Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Is it possible?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to Linux and don't know much about it. But what I'm wanting to do is install XBMCbuntu AND raid my internal HDD's installed on that machine at the same time. I am so confused during the install process I cant figure out how to install WITH raid but I can install onto 1 HDD with ease. If i try to add HDD's it asks me where do i want them mounted? i don't understand? does it want to know where in the file process such as / or /home ? if so how can i raid 4 HDD's at same location it tells me i cant do at same location. again this is IF it is even possible. Any help would be MUCH appreciated :-) thanks again
In the drive setup you should be able to format all the drives as 'software raid'. This will then give you an option to create a new raid drive out of the 4 software raid drives (Prob Raid5).

You will then be left with 1 drive totalling the amount of space on the Raid. You can then create your partitions as normal on that raid drive including /boot, /, /home, etc...

Hope this helps.
P.s. this is assuming you don't mind losing any data on those drives. Also you would probably need to go into the manual setup on the drives and not use any automated drive setup.

You would probably not want a /home partition on a htpc though. I am only going of my experiences with the anaconda\terminal raid setup in fedora\centos setups so not sure if this would apply to yourself.
I understand what you are recommending (I think). But this is where I am getting lost.

I am a complete noob when it comes to Linux/Ubuntu but I have been using XBMC for quite a while and love it.