Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Changing IP Address
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there,

I have been using my Android phone as a remote for XBMC on my computer. I am planning to move over to a nettop once I receive it. One of the biggest problems I faced with the remote app was that the IP address I had to use constantly changes from XXX.XXX.1.1 to XXX.XXX.1.3 and so on.

I know this is the computer's IP address changing and not the remote's.

What I would like to know is, is there a way to keep the IP address constant on the computer? I would like to turn on the nettop and be able to use the remote right away instead of having to figure out its IP address first.

Thanks
The simplest way is to employ mac address reservation, but your router would need to support this.

The general gist being that when the unique mac address of your computer requests an IP address, it will always be assigned the same one. If you let me know your router type I can help you with this if you're unsure of the steps needed.
You can also just set up the remote with the name of the computer and the remote will resolve the ip for you each time.
(2012-08-20, 19:51)Tolriq Wrote: [ -> ]You can also just set up the remote with the name of the computer and the remote will resolve the ip for you each time.

Never ever managed to get that to work.
(2012-08-20, 17:52)kitsunegari Wrote: [ -> ]The simplest way is to employ mac address reservation, but your router would need to support this.

The general gist being that when the unique mac address of your computer requests an IP address, it will always be assigned the same one. If you let me know your router type I can help you with this if you're unsure of the steps needed.

I have a BT-Voyager, but I don't know exactly which model.

(2012-08-20, 19:51)Tolriq Wrote: [ -> ]You can also just set up the remote with the name of the computer and the remote will resolve the ip for you each time.

How would I go about this?
Any help on this? Sorry for the bump
(2012-12-11, 18:23)BroLo Wrote: [ -> ]Any help on this? Sorry for the bump

try this http://lifehacker.com/5822605/how-to-set...ress-again
I have used this for exactly the same reasons and it works flawlessley http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ACLGL4VRxtU
That's great, but I'd be using XBMCbuntu or Ubuntu with XBMC on it.
(2012-08-21, 09:40)BroLo Wrote: [ -> ]I have a BT-Voyager, but I don't know exactly which model.

Lift up the unit and look for a label on the bottom that may state the model number. Or look in the user's manual if you still have it.
I think it's a BT-Voyager 2110. About 90% sure.
You can use any vpn app to change IP address on Android phone. But the only thing is the security of your phone, which can be compromised with any malicious vpn app. You should install this vpn app as said here: http://techzend.com/hideman-vpn-android/ because its rating and reviews are good.