Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: help disabling splashscreen
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
this is my advanced settings xml.i have it in the correct location(appdata/roaming/userdata) but the splashscreen remains.what can i do?


<advancedsettings>
<gui>
<algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
</gui>
<useddsfanart>true</useddsfanart>
<bginfoloadermaxthreads>5</bginfoloadermaxthreads>
<splash>false</splash>
<videoscanner>
<ignoreerrors>true</ignoreerrors>
</videoscanner>
<network>
<curlclienttimeout>45</curlclienttimeout>
<cachemembuffersize>1042880</cachemembuffersize>
<network>
<latency>
<delay>0</delay>
</latency>
<gputempcommand>echo "$(nvidia-settings -tq gpuCoreTemp) C"</gputempcommand>
</advancedsettings>
EDIT: IM JUST GOIN TO DELETE THE SPLASH.PNG

Typo. You forgot the "/" in the <network> end tag:

Code:
:
<network>
<curlclienttimeout>45</curlclienttimeout>
<cachemembuffersize>1042880</cachemembuffersize>
</network>
:
good spot.thanks for that
These types of errors are easier to spot, and overall readability is improved, if you format your xml files thusly:

Code:
<advancedsettings>
  <gui>
    <algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>
    <nofliptimeout>0</nofliptimeout>
  </gui>
  <useddsfanart>true</useddsfanart>
  <bginfoloadermaxthreads>5</bginfoloadermaxthreads>
  <splash>false</splash>
  <videoscanner>
    <ignoreerrors>true</ignoreerrors>
  </videoscanner>
  <network>
    <curlclienttimeout>45</curlclienttimeout>
    <cachemembuffersize>1042880</cachemembuffersize>
  </network>
  <latency>
    <delay>0</delay>
  </latency>
  <gputempcommand>echo "$(nvidia-settings -tq gpuCoreTemp) C"</gputempcommand>
</advancedsettings>
What does the bginfoloadermaxthreads setting do? Google doesn't return an exact scenario of what this setting will do?

Does it mean that xbmc will not perform more than >x< jobs at once?
(2012-08-29, 18:22)PatrickBateman Wrote: [ -> ]What does the bginfoloadermaxthreads setting do? Google doesn't return an exact scenario of what this setting will do?

Does it mean that xbmc will not perform more than >x< jobs at once?

It's covered in the wiki..

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Use...threads.3E
(2012-08-29, 18:53)Ardalista Wrote: [ -> ]
(2012-08-29, 18:22)PatrickBateman Wrote: [ -> ]What does the bginfoloadermaxthreads setting do? Google doesn't return an exact scenario of what this setting will do?

Does it mean that xbmc will not perform more than >x< jobs at once?

It's covered in the wiki..

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Use...threads.3E

Yea I saw that, however the description says very little to me.
"Control the number of threads in the background info loader thread pool (thumb generagor, flagging, etc)"

Exactly what does that mean?
How many are used by default?
Does increasing or decreasing improve performance?
How many threads are recommended for low powered CPUs 2/3/100?
What side effects are apparent when this is enabled?

By selecting a finite number such as 2 for example ... What exactly happens? Again, I searched google and apart from the description above (which to me isn't very descriptive or clear) I'm stumped if I know (and could explain to someone) what this setting actually does... Undecided
Might be better to spin this discussion off to its own thread rather than in this one, which is entitled, "help disabling splashscreen".
Yea,

It's not that important to be honest, definetly not enough to justify its own thread :-0

Just id never seen that particular setting before, however it does seem no one actually knows exactly what it does or how it works Big Grin

I was just conversing (asking the OP and in general) due to it being contained within his advancedsettings.xml posted in the thread.

Smile