Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: First time Win7 install
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
This is my first time I have installed XBMC , moving from MCE7 I was expecting great things but it's not a good start.
I ran the win installer but it has not created any program groups or shortcuts.
Now how do I fix this.
XBMC.exe can be found in computer/c:/program files (x86)......you can easily create a shortcut....
(2012-11-04, 17:13)bluray Wrote: [ -> ]XBMC.exe can be found in computer/c:/program files (x86)......you can easily create a shortcut....
Thanks. But I thought the installer would be more polished than that.
I wish there was a decent TV tuner support in XBMC then it would be the ultimate media center, but nothing comes close to MCE7. How hard is it to achieve with BDA drivers?
Something went very wrong with your install if no shortcut, etc was created.

As for your PVR question, you are asking the wrong question. XBMC's approach is to provide a unified front end for PVR services. This functionality is in alpha (in the main branch) after a long period of testing.

To use it you need to use one of any number of backends - NextPVR, TVHeadend, MediaPortal, etc. That's the piece that interfaces with your tuners, capture cards, etc.

There are quite a few posts on this in the dedicated PVR section. You should start reading in there.
(2012-11-05, 15:11)ixian Wrote: [ -> ]Something went very wrong with your install if no shortcut, etc was created.

As for your PVR question, you are asking the wrong question. XBMC's approach is to provide a unified front end for PVR services. This functionality is in alpha (in the main branch) after a long period of testing.

To use it you need to use one of any number of backends - NextPVR, TVHeadend, MediaPortal, etc. That's the piece that interfaces with your tuners, capture cards, etc.