Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Switching from UBuntu to Win7
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there,

I'm a newbie to XBMC, and have a problem with something.

First off, I'm currently running XBMCBuntu on a Asus EEEBox and it sort of works perfectly at the moment, but I need to switch to the Windows version, because I also need to run some other software on the EEEBox, which unfortunately can only be used under Win7.

My second problem, which is probably the biggest headache is my Internet Bandwidth. I have a very slow Internet Connection, with a small 10Gb Cap for the month, Now my DB is fairly huge with over 500 Movies and close to 1TB of shows, that have been updated with banners and info from the net, now I have installed a second PC with XBMC to test the Backup/Restore feature in XBMC, but that doesn't seem to work really like it should, because the new Win PC still wants to connect and update the DB, which is going to chew up my Cap in no time.

Is there a way I can do this switch successfully?

You should also know that all my movies and shows is shared across the LAN from a WinXP PC which is sort of my Media Server, so that my neighbour can also access this collection on his PS3

Any help will be appreciated

Christo
i'm not 100% sure due to differences in linux v windows on links, but on your test PC, try copying over the userdata folder from your ubuntu and see how it fairs. Things like addons etc may be path specific but the chances are your database will be the same, alongside the same thumbs, fanart etc which would obviously save you bandwith. Worth a try anyway.