Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Footer of text on live TV
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

Although being a developer, XBMC is really new to me, I'm still learning all about it.

After reading a lot about XBMC addons and such, I couldn't find anything lying around the web about what I'm trying to do, and I'm a little bit short on time to implementing it, so I'm asking for help on what direction I should take to do what I need to.

I need to show a text message for the viewer for a set amount of time (something like those text messages on news broadcasts on the footer), the message will be sent through the nextwork from another computer (will do it using rpc).

This message will be shown regardless of what's happening, if the user is vieweing any movie, live tv, anything.

Does anyone know an addon that would make something similar to this ? if not then, I'll have to do it myself so, I'm guessing the best approach would be making a Service that keep's listening for messages and then shows a window on the bottom of the screen with the text message. My problem right now though is this:

- how to display a window in the footer, I mean, a custom window, with the text height size, and screen width, say white background and black text etc, most of code examples I saw don't show how to change window properties.
- time the window display, is there anything in the API that would do this ? or do I have to implement this in the addon ?
- how do I go on about reloading addons, imagine I'm working in the addon, and I make changes, will it only refresh the changes if I restart xbmc ?

Best regards,
Hi,

There is already a limit possibility for that: Notifcations. But there is also space for one sentence. You can trigger notifications via the HTTP-API (in eden) or the JSON-RPC-API (in frodo). Just search the forum for that.

If you want to do it via an add-on it would be much more complicated: