Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Compilation Album Nightmare Before Christmas! -- Please Help?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm new to XBMC, and would like to start by thanking everyone who contributed to XBMC's development for creating such a wonderful piece of software. I absolutely love my new XBMC-running HTPC.

That said, while scanning in my video library was a breeze—I had it originally organized in the same structure that XBMC was designed to look for, and most of my titles weren't too obscure—my music library is frankly a horse of a different color. Basically, it's a mess.

I decided I would start by organizing and scanning in my Christmas music, since the holidays are coming up, and those are the songs I'll most likely be sharing soonest. Every year, when it comes time to trim the tree and make a mess decorating, I dust off my Christmas tunes and play them for the family whilst we deck our halls. I've collected a nice chunk of rock and metal carols along with some clever Christmas parodies over the years, and if I don't bring out my music, I get regaled by the traditional snooze-fest my mother brings out instead—hence why I've taken over. In the past, I've simply dumped the whole mess on my old little iRiver PMP-120, hooked it up to some speakers and hit “play all.” This year, however, I was hoping to put my new HTPC to good use instead, thinking it'd be neat to have some nice visualizations and artist/album/song info displays to go along with the festivities.

Unfortunately, while I had very little trouble scanning in my Twisted Christmas (Twisted Sister), and Ho! Ho! Hoey! (Gary Hoey) Collections—nice, complete, stand-alone albums—I've run into a snag with most everything else.