Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Weird when scanning for content
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello!

I've been using XBMC now for about 5 years and have never really had any problems. About 6 months ago I added a file server in my network due to lack of space on my HTPC.
Now I noticed something weird, when scanning for new content I usually could just press C, and the chose "scan for new content" but now with the new server that wouldnt work.
So what I had to do now to get the new content from my file server to appear on XBMC was to turn of library mode and then I was able to scan in the new content. Notice that I had to do this for both Movies and Series.
I didnt really think of it as a such a big deal and I could live with it.

Tho, a few days ago I noticed that now I couldnt scan in new movies even tho I tried both with and without library-mode, BUT I could still scan series (only with library-mode off).
After trying a few things I got it to work, by adding the *.nfo-files to the movie-folders and now I can scan in the new content in library-mode aswell as outside library-mode.

I've never used the *.nfo-files before so I wonder if there are anyway I can fix this, so I can scan in both movies and series in library-mode by just pressing "C" and select "scan for new content"?

I am using version XBMC 10.0r35647

EDIT:
I've tried to update to version 11, and 12, but didnt like either of them since the library-mode is gone, and therefore I need to browse the new content manualy, press C on it and then scan for new content for it to appear in my library.
I know that IMDB scraper cant be used, and I do use theMovieDB temporarily but I still have to do this little work-around to get stuff in my library.
Library mode is still there in 12
You need to setup it properly
(2012-12-03, 17:52)Martijn Wrote: [ -> ]Library mode is still there in 12
You need to setup it properly