Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Stereoscopic 3D support for half/full SBS, over/under, etc
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello

Base on plesken 3D Subtitles patch (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=127365) I'd created new one for Frodo and Eden. Major changes are:
  • corrected width and height of subtitles in 3D mode - they look on TV like regular subtitles
  • added changing 3D subtitles mode from keyboard (connected to 'b' key)
  • added changing 3D subtitles mode from remote (connected to 'blue' key)
  • added displaying 3D subtitles mode in message box during changing

Patches can be found there:
Eden: http://www12.zippyshare.com/v/56773202/file.html
Frodo: http://www41.zippyshare.com/v/64566276/file.html

Tested on Frodo, Eden and OpenELEC 2.0 (patch might need some changes)
Cool, thank you. Thinking about trying this, but hoping it will be added after Frodo. Don't really like patching things myself. But a question, would it be possible to detect the mode from the movie playing so you don't have to manually change subtitle mode?
I believe it's possible but to do that more code investigation is needed. Also some changes in global settings are needed to turn on/off 3d auto mode. I will try to do that mode but not sure when.
You need to do the same for GUI - patches that only duplicate subtitles are "half solutions" and won't be merged.
@Pieh is right. He gave to me link elupus patch long time ago. This patch adapting gui to display hsbs/hou, but the playing movie was not good. I've tried to correct it but my knowledge of c++ was very weak Sad.
So I decided run 3D hdmi frame-packing on bino. So I modified openelec config files, and wrote simple patch to XBMC for handling switching 3D signal to TV set. You can read on this link: http://sd-xbmc.org/?q=node/3
@ktrz if you know more better c++ like me, and you are interested to include playing 3D files to XBMC let me know.
If you feel like testing you can try out elupus changes + few of my fixes and tweakes (video playback shouldn't stutter as it did with just first patch): https://github.com/pieh/xbmc/commits/3d . I don't have 3dtv so all I could do is to check if GUI/subtitles are rendered side by side / top and bottom and they do: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/28792047/xbmc/no3d_home.png (no 3d mode) vs https://dl.dropbox.com/u/28792047/xbmc/3d_home.png (sbs mode).

There is no auto-detection so you have to switch 3d modes manually (I added to keymap 'y' key to cycle between 3d modes: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/28792047/xbmc/3d.xml - place it in userdata/keymaps directory).
@pieh, could you create patch for xbmc 11? I have old linux, and old libraries of taglib and etc...
I don't get point of creating patch against previous release - this won't be backported and I certainly won't spend time on it. We are in development forum, if you want to help, you need to be able to build latest stuff ...

In any case I got info that it seems to work with few glitches:
1. sometimes left/right views for GUI are getting out of sync and they both display different things
2. missing some details from textures (propably because currently we render half sbs/half tab and squashed elements are missing some "important" pixels)
Hi,

i have compiled the source from git. The 3D mode is not working when i press the y key.
In the log i found this entry:

ERROR: Keymapping error: no such action '3dmode' defined

When i press the y key i get following:

03:13:39 T:3037587200 DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 34, sym: 0079, unicode: 0079, modifier: 0
03:13:39 T:3037587200 DEBUG: OnKey: y (f059) pressed, action is

What wrong whit the compiled Xbmc?

Thanks

Edit Sorry it was my fault to not clone the git correctly Oo
pieh - check out the rPI stuff - IIRC there is code that detects the 3D-mode from filename and also sends correct commands via HDMI to the TV. Don't have a link at hand - but there is a recent PR improving it IIRC.
I really want to thank pieh for his patch. It was the last part I needed to get right for my mediacenter. Thanks!

Since I'm using a passive 3D TV I rip all my 3d blurays to under/over format. I've changed the code a bit for switching between over/under and 2d more easily since I don't use the other 3d formats. See: https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/f4d...2435808fd5 .

I also made a very simple addon for XBMC that switches 3D to under/over automatically. For that see: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodexbmc

And the last part to make it complete is an addon for XBMC that turns on the 3D on my LG TV with their http-api. See: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodelgtv

I'm just posting this here incase someone has some use for it (although I kinda doubt it) and of course to thank pieh and others for their work!

Edit: I made a mistake in my initial code for TAB action. See https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/c96...c5a24bf2e3 for fix
jaaps, I have an LG passive tv also. your addons will be very useful. Thanks.
(2013-01-14 15:11)jaaps Wrote: [ -> ]I really want to thank pieh for his patch. It was the last part I needed to get right for my mediacenter. Thanks!

Since I'm using a passive 3D TV I rip all my 3d blurays to under/over format. I've changed the code a bit for switching between over/under and 2d more easily since I don't use the other 3d formats. See: https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/f4d...2435808fd5 .

I also made a very simple addon for XBMC that switches 3D to under/over automatically. For that see: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodexbmc

And the last part to make it complete is an addon for XBMC that turns on the 3D on my LG TV with their http-api. See: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodelgtv

I'm just posting this here incase someone has some use for it (although I kinda doubt it) and of course to thank pieh and others for their work!

Edit: I made a mistake in my initial code for TAB action. See https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/c96...c5a24bf2e3 for fix

I also have a LG TV. How automatic is this? Is it possible to start a 3D movie and not have to assign actions to a button on my remote? But i don't have all my 3D in under/over.
I build openelec for RPI with this patch, seems to work okay, if anyone wants to try it, the build is available here: http://zpon.dk/download/OpenELEC-RPi.arm...33.tar.bz2 - note it is only for the raspberry pi.

UPDATE: Rebuild with working python: http://zpon.dk/download/OpenELEC-RPi.arm...33.tar.bz2

Thanks ktrz
Work like a charm! Thanks a lot!

Edit:

Applied the patch to Frodo RC3. Compiled under Xbmcbuntu whit only bluray enabled. Works whit SBS and OU.
modified script from jaaps: https://github.com/AndreasNogler/script....3dmodexbmc Thanks to jaaps!
Deb-package: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42833242/xbmc_12rc3-1_i386.deb Thanks to pieh and jaaps!

It will install xbmc under /usr/local/bin/xbmc. You have only to rename your files to 3dbd.ou./3dbd.sbs. or change the options in default.py

Have fun!
Reference URL's