Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMC Changes monitor when tv powers off
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys,

So I have a set up of 3 monitor + 1 TV that is used pretty much solely for XBMC. I upgraded to Frodo Beta 3 and now when I power off the TV when I go to bed XBMC winds up on another monitor when I wake up in the morning. Never had this issue until now. Any setting that I am missing here?
You could look in the Video setting section, I seem to remember there being an output section, you should be able to choose your target.
I choose my target but it changes whenever the television is turned off. I think it has to do with the HDMI. It is so strange it never acted like this with Eden.
Sooooooooo everybody uses XBMC in a single monitor/tv set up it seems.
I'm not a developer, so I can only guess on this, but I would think this would be intentional in the sense that you normally wouldn't want to just loose an application because the monitor it was on was turned off. Then again, I don't know if this change was intentional or not.
I wonder if it has to do with HDMI CEC
I have it running on my PC and never leave XBMC running, but I do have 3 monitors. Have you updated to RC1 yet? If so, I can test it on my PC running RC1. Any idea how long it takes before it switches monitors? Curious, are all monitors/tvs connected using HDMI or a mix?
Ok, ran a test last night, 3 DVI connected monitors, turned off the one xbmc is displayed on, left the other two on. Overnight no change, xbmc was still displayed on the monitor that was off.

win 7 64 bit
Frodo RC1

I am also running Win 7 64bit & Frodo RC1.

4 Monitors - 2 DVI One is a DVI to HDMI cable going to TV

Other two are display ports one adapter to DVI

I will take a look in my display fusion settings. It is in control of my screensaver and I will fiddle with power settings.