Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Cheapest mini PC with 1080 support.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I’m looking to build an XBMC PC as a Christmas gift this year but want to spend as little as possible ($100-$150?) I don’t want to build a full PC from scratch because I find them too big and noisy, the goal would be to get one of those mini PC’s.

I have been using the Acer Revo 1600 for almost 3 years now and I purchased that for $200 (way back).

Just like the revo ive been looking at dual core Atom CPU’s; ram, hd… im good with all that stuff but I don’t know which boxes have a good enough GPU to handle 1080p. I know my revo has the NVidia chipset which makes its 1080p playback possible.

I have seen some mini PC’s with “Intel GMA 3650” on board cards but I don’t know if that’s good enough for 1080p playback. Or am I just old/outdated and pretty much everything handles 1080 now?
This is newegg’s cheapest mini PC:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856205007

Once I throw in $20 worth of ram and an old laptop hard drive I should be good to go, no?

Any advice would be appreciated, the revo’s have treated me VERY well but they are a little out of Christmas gift price range, anyone have success with cheap units?

Thanks,
-aPeg
ohh and i would be running xbmcbuntu on the unit, i know OpenELEC is setting the bar low when it comes to system requirements but from what i have read it requires a little too much tweaking to be given as a gift.

Thanks agian