Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Scraping folder With Tv shows
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

I'm new to XBMC and although it works great for the most part, i can not believe how inflexible it by default is when is becomes to the Tv Shows scraper.

I have a NAS, with on it 2 folders: Movies and Series. The Movies folder with the movie files in it works great with the default Movie scraper. All cover art is downloading, and looks great.

Then the Series folder...like the Movies folder this folder has a very "flat" folder structure.
So directly is the Series folder there are files with names like "Sons.of.Anarchy.S05E13.720p.HDTV.x264-IMMERSE.mkv" or "Strike.Back.S03E09.720p.HDTV.x264-EVOLVE.mkv"

I know this is not the recommended setup, but there are a few reasons why this is the case as I use torrent client to automatically download series.
The main reason: When the torrent is finished downloading, it moves the file(and if necessary unpacks it first) to the Series folder and seeds it from there. Thus I can not move the file to another folder, because the seeding then stops.
I do not want to copy the files, because I'm already filling up my hard disk space in record time.

What I do not understand is, is why the TV shows scraper can not just get the "TV show name" from the files, instead of the folder it should be in. It already makes heavy use of regex, and all the info needed is in the file name. As is almost always is with scene releases.

My question really is: can someone help me with modifying the TV show scaper, so that it can use the first part of the filename as "TV show" name, instead of the foldername?

Thanks in advance!