Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: USB IR receiver prevents boot up when connected
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I've been playing with XBMCBuntu (Frodo RC1) for a few days now and I'm very impressed with it so far. I've got most things working fine but my biggest problem at the moment is that my USB IR receiver prevents the laptop from booting when connected at startup. I just get a completely black screen and it never gets past that point. However, if I unplug the USB IR receiver and reboot, it boots into XBMC with no problems. I can even then plug in the USB IR receiver back in and can successfully control the system using the remote, I just can't boot with it plugged in.

Has anyone else experienced similar issues or have any ideas what to try? I'm quite new to the Ubuntu OS so I'm not quite sure how to proceed on this. Here's what I've tried so far:

- Tried all 4 USB ports on the laptop. All give the same result.
- Tried enabling Ubuntu boot logging but nothing at all was logged for the failed boot.

I'm not sure if this is an XMBC issue or an Ubuntu issue. I'm guessing probably the latter as it happens really early on in the boot sequence.

Any help gratefully received.
No, try this, turn off TV with the usb IR connected and boot machine.

Confirm that machine boots fine while TV is turned off.

uNi
Thanks for the fast reply. The behaviour is the same when the laptop is completely disconnected from the TV.
Here is what stops the boot. Both the TV and The LCD scree emit Infra red light from the CCFL bulbs, this in turn floods the USB IR while it is being initialized on boot and hangs the whole lot.

Solution. Turn on TV for about an hour until the CCFL have stabilized and then Turn machine on with the IR connected same goes for laptop on machine it must be stabilized so it doesnt affect boot.