Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMC on tablet act as an remote ?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I know that there are remote apps for smartphones and tablets, but the interface of xbmc is awesome and would function as a beautiful remote interface on tablets.

basically it should function like xbmc normally does on your phone/tablet, but just playback the media on you chosen xbmc device ( the one connected to your tv/hifi amp/speakers)

im not a programmer, but i would imagine that this is not a nightmare to implement, and it would drive the xbmc platform to be more and more an flexible household experience, especially with all these cheap and powerful little machines like the raspberrypi and alike. this trend will only continue with devices getting cheaper and smaller and more powerful. people will have more then a couple of devices in there house fur filling different functions like music only playback and such.

Love to get some feedback on this.
+1
I know the Android app isn't quite as polished as, say, Constellation for iOS, but how would what you suggest be any better? I mean, the current remote apps already give you access to everything, in a format better suited for touch at that. In the case of Constellation, it's actually quite awesome looking as well.

Also, I am a programmer (C# and Objective C, I used to work on the MediaPortal project), and what you are suggesting is harder than you think it is. It'd be easier now that JSON-RPC is implemented but not that easy. I think the current remote strategy is what they are sticking with.
Thank you for your reply, you do make a valid point. In short; i have an iphone 5 and a nexus7 tablet. and i must say that the official remote for ios is VERY good en beautiful, (i just installed constellation and it looks very nice as well, if i can only find where to put the host ip:port settings. Whats up with that?)