Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Please help... HD audio no longer working.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
At one point it was working perfectly. I was using a Pioneer 1019AH receiver (but cannot remember what version XBMC, possible Eden). I ended up upgrading my receiver to another Pioneer model VSX91TXH (which is DTS-MA/TrueHD compatible). However, I did switch over to a different version XBMC beforehand and dont remember checking to see if HD audio worked. Now I'm stuck not knowing if its the current XBMC version I am using or my receiver thats the issue.
Anyway, when I attempt to play a video with DTSMA or TrueHD the video will play for a second or two along with the audio and cut in and out repeatedly. The correct indicators light up on my receiver (DTS-MA/TrueHD) so I know the signal is being sent. I am using 12.0 RC3 BTW, I have yet to successfully bitstream HD audio using this receiver. I am running XBMC on a Zotac Zbox ID34 (ION2).
Debug: http://pastebin.com/q5znMrc5

Please help. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
I would not use Sync to Display (skip/dupe) with HD audio - dropping audio packets isn't good with encoded formats....
(2013-01-27, 17:19)DDDamian Wrote: [ -> ]I would not use Sync to Display (skip/dupe) with HD audio - dropping audio packets isn't good with encoded formats....

I tried it with and without Sync to display, thats not the issue. I did see this in the debug log although I dont really know what I'm looking at..
10:00:49 T:3007231808 ERROR: Unable to load libcrystalhd.so.3, reason: libcrystalhd.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
The lines that stood out to me were:

Code:
751.10:06:12 T:2821565248   DEBUG: CDVDPlayerAudio:: Skipping 1 packet(s) of 10.67 ms duration
752.10:07:27 T:3007231808   DEBUG: Previous line repeats 7 times.

Where it dropped 8 audio packets in a little over a minute, but if you've tried with and without that setting clearly that's not the issue.
I found 12.00 RC3 Intel-Nvidea ISO is it worth reinstalling with this version?
If anything you might want to try rolling back to RC1 and try. There were some changes made after that affecting the video clock. Sorry, I'm more of a Windows guy but that would be the best suggestion I can make until a Linux guy can help out.

[EDIT] my reading glasses must be foggy - the crucial log lines are the broken pipes - something not happy in the ALSA sink or ALSA config Sad
10:05:31 T:2821565248 INFO: CAESinkALSA - ALSA: pcm_hw.c:514Sadsnd_pcm_hw_delay) SNDRV_PCM_IOCTL_DELAY failed (-32): Broken pipe

interesting, I've never seen this error before
Just installed 12.00 RC3 Intel-Nvidea. Same problem. Now I'm gonna try RC1.

Edit Same thing with RC1. Back to Eden I guess. Nobody has any ideas?
HD audio does not work at all with Eden so that won't work Smile

Looking at your debug log, there are 8 audio devices listed. Only the ones numbered 4,5 and 8 seems so support HD audio formats, and 8 appears to be plugged into your amp

Code:
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:     Device 8
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_deviceName      : hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_displayName     : HDA NVidia
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_displayNameExtra: PIO VSX-82TXV on HDMI
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_deviceType      : AE_DEVTYPE_HDMI
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_channels        : FL,FR,LFE,FC,BL,BR,SL,SR
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_sampleRates     : 32000,44100,48000,88200,96000,176400,192000
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_dataFormats     : AE_FMT_LPCM,AE_FMT_AC3,AE_FMT_DTS,AE_FMT_EAC3,AE_FMT_DTSHD,AE_FMT_TRUEHD,AE_FMT_S32NE,AE_FMT_S16NE,AE_FMT_S16LE

So, which one is selected in xbmc audio settings? And for that matter how about a screenshot of your audio settings - press PrtScr on your keyboard to take a screenie.
(2013-01-28, 07:12)nickr Wrote: [ -> ]HD audio does not work at all with Eden so that won't work Smile

Looking at your debug log, there are 8 audio devices listed. Only the ones numbered 4,5 and 8 seems so support HD audio formats, and 8 appears to be plugged into your amp

Code:
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:     Device 8
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_deviceName      : hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_displayName     : HDA NVidia
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_displayNameExtra: PIO VSX-82TXV on HDMI
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_deviceType      : AE_DEVTYPE_HDMI
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_channels        : FL,FR,LFE,FC,BL,BR,SL,SR
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_sampleRates     : 32000,44100,48000,88200,96000,176400,192000
10:00:49 T:3007231808  NOTICE:         m_dataFormats     : AE_FMT_LPCM,AE_FMT_AC3,AE_FMT_DTS,AE_FMT_EAC3,AE_FMT_DTSHD,AE_FMT_TRUEHD,AE_FMT_S32NE,AE_FMT_S16NE,AE_FMT_S16LE

So, which one is selected in xbmc audio settings? And for that matter how about a screenshot of your audio settings - press PrtScr on your keyboard to take a screenie.

I remember I used a version of XBMCFreaks Eden which I couldve sworn supported HD Audio. Ive changed the audio settings so much to try and get it working that right now I dont have any specific audio settings.
I had "PIO VSX-82TXV" as both passthrough and audio device which worked at one point (with a diff Pio receiver). There are settings such as PIO VSX-82TXV complete hdmi, PIO VSX-82TXV formatted HDMI, plug both, etc. None work.
There is no way this can be a receiver issue right?

Image

BTW (and not that it probably makes a difference), but out 3 Pioneer receivers I have used XBMC with which correctly identified the correct model # and successfully bitstreamed HD audio, the is the only one it didnt correctly ID the model # (its actually 91TXH)
Yeah I noticed the model number difference.

Should your speaker config be 7.1?

Yes looking again at your debug log all those devices (4,5,and8) do refer to the amplifier.
(2013-01-28, 08:41)nickr Wrote: [ -> ]Yeah I noticed the model number difference.

Should your speaker config be 7.1?

Yes looking again at your debug log all those devices (4,5,and8) do refer to the amplifier.

No, I have a 5.1 setup.
So you're saying this is a receiver issue??

I am not sure what the effect of setting it to 5.1 and then playing a (presumably 7.1) HD Audio stream would be - perhaps it then tries to downmix it to 5.1? I dunno.

Well it could be a receiver issue. Hard to say without swapping it out for another.
(2013-01-28, 08:52)nickr Wrote: [ -> ]I am not sure what the effect of setting it to 5.1 and then playing a (presumably 7.1) HD Audio stream would be - perhaps it then tries to downmix it to 5.1? I dunno.

Well it could be a receiver issue. Hard to say without swapping it out for another.

I've tried many different videos with HD audio streams 5.1 / 7.1 doesnt matter.
I've been trying to get this working now since I bought the receiver two weeks ago. Might just dump it on ebay and buy something else. This receiver is a 2007 model when DTSMA / TrueHD was still quite new so maybe this is a factor.
If it is in fact a receiver issue, would it show up on XBMCs bug log Huh?? I'm assuming if errors are showing up on the log it must be in the software right?
I just read on another thread that a custom config file has to be made for nVidea cards. Does this apply to my problem (even though it worked on my previous 2 receivers without)?
Pages: 1 2 3