Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMCbuntu Tablet/Stylus question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I just competed a fresh install of XBMCbuntu (Eden) on a Asus B121 tablet pc with a touch screen and stylus. By default it boots into XBMC which is what I want. The touchscreen and stylus do not work while in this mode, however if I exit out and log into Ubuntu (lubuntu) everything works perfectly. XBMC works fine in windowed mode also.

I found two scripts that seem to solve this problem, but I have to boot into Ubuntu first. Both more or less are this:

runXBMC

#!/bin/bash
export SDL_MOUSE_RELATIVE=0
xbmc

I am still learning Linux, but I understand I at boot time I should be able to point to this script. I want to boot in XBMC by default. How do I do this? Is it a link or config file I need to edit?
Specifics would be grateful. I'm still learning.
Take a look at /usr/share/xsessions/XBMC.desktop

Copy it to /usr/share/xsessions/XBMCtouch.desktop and edit it to run your script instead of xbmc-standalone.

Now log out and then choose the XBMCtouch session when you log in.
Thanks for the reply, but after doing the suggestions, I don't get an option for XBMCtablet at login/reboot

Here is what I did. Created XBMCtouch.desktop in /usr/share/xsessions (XBMC.desktop still exists)
Edited it as follows

[Desktop Entry]
Name=XBMCtouch
Comment=This session will start XBMC Media Center with touch screen
Exec="/usr/local/bin/XBMCtouch"
TryExec="/usr/local/bin/XBMCtouch"
Type=Application

I have my startup script in /usr/local/bin and permissions are 755.

My options at login are
XBMC
XBMCbuntu
Openbox

Is there something to update so that XBMCtouch is available.
Well you will probably need to restart lightdm (rather than just log out).

I have fiddled with this for the last hour or so because I couldn't make my own advice work!