Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Basic add-on to update information on the home screen
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I want to display some information on the homescreen (next to the weather), and update it periodically.

Context: I have plenty of programming experience, but zero XBMC knowledge and I need some help architecting my solution. I'm using Frodo/Confluence.

I want to show how much data I can download before I hit my ISPs monthly throttling limit: information that I'll need to scrape from my account page on their website.

Can I achieve this with just a scraper?

If not, I guess I'm making an add-on - but should this add-on be a plugin or a script? If it's a plugin, what media type should it be? If it's a script, is it a service or a module?

It most closely fits the plugin/weather paradigm, but of course it's not weather data that I'm dealing with.

I think I can define and set custom InfoLabels from my add-on, but what triggers my add-on to run? Should I collect the required data in an external script (& cronjob) and pass it to my add-on via the JSON-RPC API?
Welcome to the XBMC forums.

I'm no programmer, but a quick-and-dirty option may be to have a cronjob or daemon that periodically scrapes that usage data and places it in an XML file. You could then use the RSS ticker that scrolls along the bottom of the homepage to display this local "newsfeed" file. You can set the refresh interval of the RSS ticker so that it coincides with the frequency of the usage data refresh job.
You can do it all from an add-on, if you like.

Add-on type: script, media type name: service(a script that will be run at either login or startup)

I like the RSS ticker idea otherwise you'll have to do some skinning modifications and/or make a skin for your add-on.
Thanks for the pointers - very useful.

If I make a script/service, will it only update the home screen every time I restart XBMC?