Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Adding background to clock in includes.xml
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm working on adding a static bar which will be a background for the top clock, date and title, for example: 'Videos - Title'. I've said in previous threads that I'm totally new to skinning so sorry about the questions. Would someone be able to either help me out or point me in the right direction in the skinning guide? I thought maybe creating a property and then applying that to <include name="Clock"> section might work, at least for the clock area. My job is skinning for vBulletin, XenForo, Wordpress and other web apps, css+php and a little bit of xml are fine, I find XBMC so confusing though.

Again thank you for any help on this.

An example of what I'm trying to do can be seen in this mockup - the top grey bar. http://anony.ws/i/UparZ.png
Many possibilities to do it. For the top bar in your example I would use e.g. this structure:

PHP Code:
<include name="TopBar">
  <
control type="group">

# Put everything inside a group. This makes it easy to animate and show/hide if needed

[...]

# This would be the background image

<control type="image">
      [...]
    </
control>

# The left info would be an image and a label control. You can also use a grouplist here but it's not needed

<control type="image">
      [...]
    </
control>
    <
control type="label">
      [...]
    </
control>

# For the right info (weather & clock) I would use a right aligned group list because the clock can have am/pm and the city name is variable

<control type="grouplist">
      [...]
      <
orientation>horizontal</orientation>
      <
align>right</align>

# place the images and labels here

</control>
  </
control>
</include> 

Hope that helps. Smile