Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Raid cards
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,Being a complete noob to any form of linux I would like to know if you can install drivers for raid cards and how to do that.I built a smaller rig for my media and went with xbmc live install.My movies were put on the disks in a windows inviorment. Is it possible to have them to be added to the files list in xbmc once the drivers are installed.Can ntfs file system and linux stuff work together?I have way too many flicks to redo them. Thanks and have been a xbmc user for a long time.Huh
So make sure I have this right: you have a windows machine with your movies on it in a raid setup, and a newer smaller machine with a linux based xbmc setup. You want to access the movies on the windows machine via your LAN and watch them on the linux machine?

If i have that right, simply get windows to share the folder with the movies in, using regular windows network file sharing (it's called CIFS, the successor to SMB, but you don't need that level of detail).

Then on the linux xbmc machine add the share via SMB protocol. (Click browse in the Add Videos... dialog)
So you installed a RAID card under Windows and formatted the device with NTFS and now you have a bunch of movies on it? It could work in Linux but that depends on the RAID card in question. More expensive ones will naturally work as they show the RAID array as just another device. Cheaper ones like your motherboards built-in drivers are recognized by mdadm which is the software RAID component in Linux.

Try an Ubuntu live CD on the machine that has the RAID array and see if it gets recognized, that's the only way to make sure.