Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Aspect Ratio not displayed correctly in Movie info
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

I am a relative newbie to xbmc, just starting to rip my blu ray collection on a home grown NAS (ubuntu running zfs for redundancy), and am pretty happy with how things are going. Tested out three skins before settling on transparency. I really like the layout of this skin, and it was the easiest to use out of the ones tested. Have been seeing a problem with the aspect ratio displayed in the info for the movies in my library. I can get them to display in the skin to what is in the .nfo file for the movie if I navigate to the movie info, then hit the refresh button, and select the use local files button..well usually, can't get 2.40:1 formatted movies to display 2.40 in the info, they come up as 2.35 even if the aspect ratio tag is given 2.40 in the .nfo file. It looks like the reason why I can't get 2.40 to display is because of the limited number of defined Aspect Ratio's in the xbmc source as described here: aspect ratio link

The problem crops up after a movie is viewed in xbmc. Once that is done the aspect ratio from the .nfo file is overwritten by xbmc to an incorrect value. If the movie info is refreshed the value in the movie info goes back to what is in the .nfo file. This was identified, and a possible solution provided by a different user earlier in the week in this thread: possible solution link

The fix was to have the skin read the aspect ratio from the folder of file name. Which leads me to my question, can this be done using the transparency skin? And if so how would one go about modifying it to get the aspect ratio value from the folder of file name?