Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Play single movie in folder directly.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Guys,

I'm new to the world of XBMC. So forgive me if I sound naive. I've been a user of various media players over the years and have finally given up on their crappy UI. Should have done this ages ago.

Anyway, I spent a good amount of time renaming all my image (poster) files for my movies to reflect the '-poster' at the end and it all works beautifully. I do not though, use the library feature. I maintain my own library on my iPad and based on what I wish to see, I pop that drive in and XBMC does the rest. [I know... there is a version for the iPad as well. But i'm too far along to consider switching that.] So for now, I wish to just stick to my own organising.

This is what my drive structure looks like...

Code:
Movies HD|1
    ↪ Aladdin (1992)
        ↳ Aladdin (1992).mkv
    ↪ The Bourne Trilogy (2002-2007)
        ↳ 01 The Bourne Identity (2002).mkv
        ↳ 02 The Bourne Supremacy (2004).mkv
        ↳ 03 The Bourne Ultimatum (2007).mkv
        ↳ 04 Extras
            ↳ 01 Extra 1.mkv
            ↳ 02 Extra 2.mkv
            ↳ ...and so on.
    ↪ The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
        ↳ The Shawshank Redemption (1994).mkv
    ↪ ...and so on.

I have all my films in their own folder. Nothing is without a folder. I manage my movie 'sets' manually. I've already done the work, and wish to continue this way. I am liking what I see. (Of course, ever folder has a 'folder.jpg' and a moviename-poster.jpg' too. I've just not listed it above.)

My only wish is... that if the folder has just 1 .mkv file in it, XBMC plays it directly! Instead of going inside and showing me that 1 file.