Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Installed XBMCbuntu - A couple of issues
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys,

Really enjoying using XBMC - got the Windows version running on my main PC and it's great! I figured that I could use my old laptop which had been gathering dust as a media centre/server/top box for the living room TV.

I've booted up into XBMCbuntu, installed it, connected to my Wi-Fi etc - I am posting right now from the XBMCbuntu browser so hopefully that means I haven't done anything too wrong yet! Tongue

I'm fairly good with computers but I'm a complete Linux noob so if possible I'd like the replies to be as step-by-step detailed as possible.

1) I can connect to the internet on the desktop part (here right now) and stream files from other computers on the network, but XBMC seemingly won't connect to the internet. It doesn't bring up any available Add-ons or artworks etc.

2) Can I install other software in XBMCbuntu? I'd like to be able to use an Android based remote mouse/keyboard package such as RemoteDroid as well as the XBMC remote app.

Thanks in advance, and great work on XBMC, it's badass!
Never mind - solved both problems with a bit of reading and tinkering. I installed Synaptic to get other packages, then installed the Gnome package and then the network parts of XBMC worked.

I'm unsure if that was a solution or a coincidence but, as the saying goes, all's well that ends well!
Hey there

I'm running xbmcbuntu too. I was just wondering is there a way to setup xbmcbuntu to automatically download the latest tv shows?

thanks
(2013-03-21, 00:52)Isulaiman Wrote: [ -> ]I'm running xbmcbuntu too. I was just wondering is there a way to setup xbmcbuntu to automatically download the latest tv shows?