Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Google TV, DLNA, and more
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have searched the forums and not found my answer but would be surprised if this topic hadn't already been discussed, so forgive me if I totally missed the boat!

I'm new to XBMC (what in the world have I been doing with my life??) and have a question about the UPnP capability, Google TV, DLNA, etc. Ultimately the question is: can I use XBMC as a player and my Google TV (in my case, an old Logitech Revue) as a receiver? I have read that Google TV does not have the capability itself to install XBMC. However, you can install Google Play apps like ViMu to pick up music and videos from XBMC on another device (in my case a Samsung Galaxy S3). So a video on my GS3 can be played on my GTV (voila!). So my real issue is actually one step further. I want to know if there is a way to do this with streaming video from Video Add Ons in XBMC. Anyone know of a way to get streaming video coming through a Video Add On in XBMC on Android to stream to my Google TV?

Thanks!
Eventually, yes. The UPnP/DLNA features are being expanded upon for functionality like this. So far it's only working between XBMC and XBMC, but I hear the goal is for it to eventually work with any UPnP/DLNA target.
Fair enough, thanks for the quick reply!