Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Just discovered XBMC, please help.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First, let me start by saying I'm not a techie so I'm new to all of this. I'm planning on cutting the cord & found tons of praise for XBMC. I need advice on a media player ($200 or less... Preferably less). I'll most likely get subscriptions to Hulu & Netflix. I'll have an on air HD antennae. I have an old PC w/ vista & 2 yr old HP pavilion laptop g4. I've tried and have been impressed with XBMC & it's endless possibilities.

I want to get a media player to use XBMCs add-ons for movies, TV, and hopefully sports. I'm a sports guy. I don't have stored media. I want to use XBMCs add ons. What's my best bet for quality playing onto my tv? I'm confused on Pivos Xios, Rasperry Pi , Apple TV, or HTPC. Honestly I don't barely even know what the 1st 2 are! I'm sure people hate this question but you'd be helping someone who needs it.

Is apple 2 jailbroken my best option? Seems expensive. I know there isn't a jjailbreak for Apple TV 3 (got a deal on one & roku to test out).

Please give me some advice. Sorry this is long.
I see Raspberry Pi on eBay all loaded up or so I think. Confused
I use Raspberry Pi's and Apple TV Version 1 myself for hardware clients.
Pivos is new but is probably a bit more powerful than ATV or the Pi.
I dont think roku can XBMC but I could be mistaken.

Mine is like 100% stored media as far as TV and movies.

For sports there is a sports devil plugin, quality is not HD but it is free.
For over the air I actually have an HDHomerun box and all clients can tune into OTA channels.

For Hulu there is a bluecop repo plugin that is free so you dont need a hulu plus subscription.
There are a few plugins like MLB and NHL I think you can pay MLB or NHL direct and login with the XBMC login.