Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Performance Issues (Frodo)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there,

I am new to XBMC and the forums, so be nice!

After many hours of trying different distros and configurations (wiping the disk each time for a fresh install) I settled on Ubuntu 11.10 as this was the first distro that installed perfectly and played video files and youtube smoothly in HD.

The issue I have is quite a big one with regards to XBMC because anything I play is about 1 FPS (literally getting between 0.2 and 1.5 FPS!). If I play the same videos from the Ubuntu desktop using any of the players, they are fine. Similarly if I play online videos like youtube and tvcatchup they work fine outside of XBMC.

Surely it must be possible to play videos within a dedicated media front-end with the same performance as your standard desktop? At the moment I cannot use XBMC and can simply use my standard desktop. This is a bit disappointing because this machine is purely for watching videos!

Any advice on how I can get the playback to be as good as Gnome (or whatever Ubuntu is using)?

Thanks,
S
Welcome,

More likely your sbmc audio settings are not compatible with your current connected equipment, it greatly depends on bothe HTPC and connected equipment support, yes, bad audio settings do cause what you describe.

See AudioEngine/HOW-TO:_Configure_audio (wiki)

This is WELL documented and discussed to death all over forums.

uNi