Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Error while compiling xbmc for android on Ubuntu 12.04, 32bit machine
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am a newbie here. I need to compile xbmc for android devices. For the last 3 days i was trying almost everything for that. I followed https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master...ME.android exactly with different configurations. But each time the compilation failed at different steps.
i have a few questions,
1. http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Dev...or_Android
In this page they are saying Crystax NDK 'r7' is required to compile xbmc. But in the above mentioned Readme file
"[NOTICE] Compiling XBMC for Android requires at least Android NDK
Revision r8e. Android NDK Revision 7 and earlier do not work
properly for our cause."
So they are preferring NDK 'r8'. Which NDK is the right one? r7 or r8?
I tried with both theese ndk and i failed.
2. Crystax NDK r7 does not support GCC 4.7. But in that Readme, they says "Currently only gcc 4.7 toolchains are supported, anything
else will likely fail to build."
Which gcc should i choose?
i tried NDK r8 with GCC 4.7, but it fails by saing that gcc cannot create executabes.
when i used Crystax NDK r7 with GCC 4.6, there is no such errors. But the last 'make' failes with different errors at different time.
First the problem was something about libdvd.so not found or so. Trying different configurations solved this.
But now there is "permission denied" errors.
Quote: make[2]: Entering directory `/home/vijeesh/xbmc-android/lib/libdvd/libdvdnav'
/bin/sh: 1: cannot create obj/dvdnav-config: Permission denied
make[2]: *** [obj/dvdnav-config] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/vijeesh/xbmc-android/lib/libdvd/libdvdnav'
make[1]: *** [libdvdnav] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vijeesh/xbmc-android/lib/libdvd'
make: *** [dvdpcodecs] Error 2

What am i doing wrong?