Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Library organization and setup with multiple file formats
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm quite sure I'm going to get flamed for asking something most of you know about, but I've been using XBMC for about 5 years, read the latest wiki pages and FAQs and Google'd, and I still can't find the answer. In short, I've typically had my movie files set under multiple roots, with movies under \Movies being primarily ISOs with a single file in each folder using the moviename (year) directory format. My MP4 and compressed MKV files have been under another root \Compressed, and in some cases I've only got a movie in 1 format but I'm increasingly having many in multiple formats and I'm having trouble keeping track of them all. I presume if I use the filename (year) format I can put the ISO and other files in the same folder, but I'm sure I'd end up with duplicates when I browse my Movie library in XBMC.

Can you suggest a folder organization\library setup combo which will allow me to browse all my movies and then allow me to select which version to play if there are multiple versions? Thanks so much for any help as I try to take my XBMC knowledge to the next level and start using more of this incredible application.

Mark
The feature simply doesn't exist yet. If you scan in two copies then you will always get two copies in XBMC's library.
There is no need to organize your files that way, but no harm in it either. You could dump them all in one Movies folder.

If you have duplicates in different formats, like Avatar (2009).iso and Avatar (2009).mkv, it would be easiest to just decide which one you like best and remove the other from your library. If you don't, they should end up with the same name in your library, but you could look at the format flags or filename in the XBMC display to tell which is which and select it.