Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Yahoo! Weather
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34
(2016-03-27, 18:10)diedrichg Wrote: [ -> ]Does any of this info help?
https://forum.rainmeter.net/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=23010

example: http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=2436453&u=f

Thank you for this! Just what I needed to fix my desktop Conky

;-)
Can it be that in 'http://query.yahooapis.com/v1/public/yql' (that are used in kodi's yahoo weather addon) the temperature values are out of date by one hour, during which at 'http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss' match the temperature of the current hour?

Here is a comparative example to everyone's attention, even adjust, said curl must be installed:


-- curl http://query.yahooapis.com/v1/public/yql \-d q="select * from weather.forecast where woeid=22164089" -d format=xml | grep temp=

versus

-- http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=22164089&u=f


Note: I get way also occasionally fail, since I have modified the defaul.py



(Due to mechanised translation grammar may be faulty, sorry)
Thanks so much for the default.py code update.. All working again!! Smile
I think the solution of Post # 165 is the best!

I finally get temperature values of the current hour, and the occasional update errors do not appear more



(Due to mechanised translation grammar may be faulty, sorry)
(2016-03-27, 22:10)Sittich Wrote: [ -> ]I think the solution of Post #165 is the best! I finally get temperature values of the current hour, and the occasional update errors do not appear more

Agreed. I have just updated my default.py and the response is much faster as expected. Also, since the security is for the Yahoo API's and this URL does not reference them, it is possible that we will be able to continue using this fix without Yahoo! pulling the plug. So now we have 2 working fixes. Nice work peeps! Big Grin

I was hoping that these results would appear in Google searches until the addon is updated in the repository. Anybody know how to up the rankings? There must be thousands of people using this Kodi addon wondering why it is so cold where they live Tongue It is good information for all the apps which Yahoo! have also broken with the update.
Well, so happy I'm not with two solutions. I have now made more than two hours test run. The result is as follows:

Post #165 solution brings apparently recent changes in temperature, while solution #153 apparently lags the temperature changes by 1 hour afterwards. However, the weather forecast is different, even after more than two hours.

How can that be, when both solutions are from the one and the same data source, namely yahoo HuhHuhHuh

This picture set show the forecast for (left picture) solution #165, and the right for #153
watch gallery



And this picture set an half hour later .... picture left = #165 ; picture right #153
watch gallery


Why use yahoo even different data sources for the same place?!?! And what data source is correct and also current?
I thought yahoo is yahoo !!!!!

Note: The fact that the temperature in the four images contrary to my assertion not changed is that the temperature really did not change. It's midnight Wink



(Due to mechanised translation grammar may be faulty, sorry)
+haxobel: since your post #165 was said to be the best answer I would like your help

I found /home/pi/.kodi/addons/screensaver.weather/default.py
I was NOT able to find API_URL to make the change.

Help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Jimbo213Mo
I believe it's in Kodi/addons/weather.yahoo where the .py needs editing.
Thanks. That fixed it for me.
+1 OTinley:

Found it - thanks.
Yahoo Weather - after maybe 20 seconds - started working again just FINE.
Thanks so much.
(2016-03-28, 03:57)Jimbo213Mo Wrote: [ -> ]+1 OTinley:

Found it - thanks.
Yahoo Weather - after maybe 20 seconds - started working again just FINE.
Thanks so much.

Happy for you!
hi how do you you fix the weather addon can you explain please?
(2016-03-28, 04:16)mystic84 Wrote: [ -> ]hi how do you you fix the weather addon can you explain please?
Please refer to post 165
You will have to edit file (using notepad++ or python editor):
default.py in (if windows) %appdata%/Kodi/Addons/weather.yahoo/
mystic84: I'm a newbie so I'll give you some detailed steps assuming you are using the RPi generic home screen

1) open file manager in the Pi MENU > ACCESSORIES > FILE MANAGER
2) paste THIS into the openbox to the right of the file icon:
/home/pi/ is the default that appears
/home/pi/.kodi/addons/weather.yahoo <---
don't forget the *.* before kodi
... just cut-paste the above sentence
3) double click on default.py icon [this will open the file in the python editor]

4) Here is how I documented the change at line 21 [you'll have to use the down-arrow and count to 21]

4a) highlight the line: API_URL = 'http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?w=%s&u=c'
4b) cut the below code, all five (5) lines

# ***************************************************************************
# API_URL = 'http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?w=%s&u=c'
# changed per post #165 at http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=169410&page=11
# ***************************************************************************
API_URL = 'http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?w=%s&u=c'

4c) Paste clicking on Edit-Paste or keystrokes = CTRL+V

5) Click on File-Save or [CTRL+S]

6) after about 20 seconds your YAHOO weather should begin to work

If you appreciate this answer please +1 below.
Thanks.
Before I make any changes I would like to know if a fix will be incorporated in the next auto-update. Have there been any updates for this add-on ?
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34