Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Help sought concerning Himedia media player
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

Complete newbie here, hoping for good news!

Recently bought a Himedia Q5 media player. Hisilicon 3716C, ARM Cortex A9 1GHz, running Android 4.0.3 ICS. Excellent hardware performance IMO.

I'd be delighted if only I could be enabled to use it in conjunction with XBMC, and have been studying this thread:-
-http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=168268 in hopes that it would be the answer to my prayers. Alas, it isn't. Nowhere (according to Search) does Himedia figure, nor the ARM Cortex A9 1GB CPU. I've tried installing four of the latest builds (in descending sequence) then gave up after each had failed to load.

One (apparent) sign of progress at first was that - unlike '12.2-Frodo' which was the only version I'd previously tried to install and which bailed-out every time with the standard error-message that it wasn't compatible with my hardware - they all (bar one) installed without a hitch. However, that was all that they did do: trying to open them only resulted in my being returned to the same screen. Stalemate.

From this experience I take it that at present there's no version of the experimental build so far developed which will work with the Himedia Q5. Has any other owner of this device found otherwise? Assuming this to be a correct assessment, is there anyone (an XBMC person?...) able/willing to hazard a guess as to whether there ever will be such a build?
Well, according to this (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?pid=1281213), the SOC seems non-neon, so unsupported by us at the basic level, not even speaking of acceleration.

There are non-neon builds floating on other sites, but without H/W acceleration, afaik.
Hi Koying

Thanks for the response.

Quote:There are non-neon builds floating on other sites, but without H/W acceleration, afaik.