Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: server with 6 hdds
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Hi,
I have 6 2TB HDDs running on my desktop. My Desktop is running out of space,so I want to build server. The HDDs contain around 400 HD Movies. Since I am new to this I would like to know, what are my BEST options here. I would like to have a server and a HTPC w/ XMBC seperatly.
Start by finding a case that will hold however many hdd's you want to have and are happy with - Im happy with my fractal desgin r2. Next a mother board with lots of sata ports - probably atx sized for more expandability. These days I prefer intel cpus, but anything will do. I'd be looking for a current low end intel cpu with inbuilt gpu , eg celeron/i3 - but this depends on what you want the file server to do, eg encode musc/videos on the fly etc. A small ssd for the system drive + 4gb or ram, maybe more if using windows. A quality PSU with a high efficiency rating, I like corsair but there are other brands.
thx for the advice so far. Yes Im already looking for a case and mobo. Probably with SATA Backplane.But I want also to prevent data loss in case of HDD malfunction. Can I build a RAID or something?
Buy a 6 bay NAS.
Cant afford it. Want to build a server myself. But how do get the harddrives together as one single storage. Thats my idea. Is this possible even they are already in use? The thing is when I ask in a german forum people don't real good advice to rookie. Thats why i ask here.
Do you want raid or drive pooling? I know you can pool existing folders together in linux with aufs and you may get away with building a raid array by using mdadm to create a degraded raid array and add your drives to the raid array as you copy more data to it.
Drive pooling sounds interesting to me. But i have just little xp with linux. What linux version would you recommend? I definitely want to get into it.