Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: How can you change the movie order inside the movie library?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone,

Quite new to XBMC but been putting a lot of time into learning it and downloading content, and I have a question which doesn't seem to have a obvious answer by looking at the menu functionality.

I would like to change the movie order that in presented while browsing the movies. Mostly interested due to sequels that have completely different names and instead of appearing side by side are in complete opposite sides of the library, or in series like "Batman" where the most logical way would be for them to be side by side and ordered by the release year.

What would be the best way to approach this issue?

Thx for any help for the newbie here
Welcome to the XBMC forums.

You can use movie sets (wiki) to help group together these related films.
Two things I have noticed just now playing with the movie sets.

1- When you are managing the movie sets you can sort them by year, which would be exactly what I wanted except when you go back to the movie library they will again be sorted by name which is what I really want for the whole library, so it doesn't work

2- When you enable the movie sets all movies collapse inside that set and are not all shown in the movie library, which is what I was expecting to preserve.

Basically what I was looking for was to be able to configure the movie sets to be sorted by year and altogether while maintaining the showcase library with all the movies.
I know I being a bit pick but that is what I wanted.

Anyone ever managed to get that done?
Nightly builds (wiki) have an easy "sort title" editor built into XBMC's GUI. Give that a try, but backup your userdata folder (wiki), since you would be using development builds.