Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMC 12.2, MySQL, thumbnail cache -> clients without internet
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hey guys im new to the forum but not to xbmc. I have been using xbmc for quite a few years and rave about it to others that arent yet into htpc yet.

Anyways, i have a question about shared libraries and common thumbnail sync. I have a fairly extensive movie/tv show collection and i want to be able to sync this collection, and cover art across all clients in my network. Ive been doing some goggling and have managed to get my library to share across my network with the help of my QNAP nas. however, i am having a problem with thumbnail syncing. i read that frodo will take care of all thumbnail syncing so path sub isn't required.

Only the client that i used for the library update/scan has the cover art, the rest of the clients dont. do i have to share the thumbnails folder or something in order to get all clients to access the cover art? Not all of my clients have internet access, so i would prefer to only use one client for content updates and thumbnail d/l's and be able to receive those library updates as well as thumbnails without having to connect to the internet again.

i would appreciate if someone would be able to point me in the right direction..

thanks guy for your time and help!

cheers
For clients without internet access, make sure you scrape only local artwork. Switching to local-only content is easy enough by either exporting the library and/or using a media manager.

If you insist on your current approach of using internet artwork, your only option is to synchronise Textures13.db and the Thumbnails folder of each remote client (that doesn't have internet access) with the "master" (your scraper client).