Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Menu browsing lag with other skins
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey everyone,

I am new to XBMC. Have been using Media Browser and Media Center Master on top of Windows Media center for a few years. I have been hearing good things about XBMC and wanted to try it out. I searched the forums and didn't find a solution to my problem.

It seems that when browsing through my movies directory (500+ titles) there is considerable lag with anything but the default confluence skin. I can scroll through 3 or 4 titles, then it will freeze for like 5-6 seconds, and catch up. This makes it rather difficult with the number of titles in the library. Video and everything else works fine.

Are there setting in these other skins that can fix this?

I am running Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit with an AMD Phenom II x4 945 @ 3Ghz, 4Gig Ram on an ATI Radeon HD 5570.
This is the latest stable build 12.2
If Confluence is working fine, then most skins for the same build should work well too. When you have 500+ titles, are they all in one flat file or do you have the collection divided into sub folders with each movie in it's own folder named as the movie (date). It's much easier even for your O/S to have 50-100 titles per source, reading the directory etc is much more efficient.

The size of artwork, and your gfx set-up matter a lot, give the system time to pre-cache various sources and through put from your hard drives can prove crucial. Many suggest an SSD eliminates most of these browsing delays with a compatible skin.

Using the debug mode, have a look at the time sequence with an editor to determine your bottle necks. I love the skin Transparency! and it seems to runs as quickly as Confluence no matter how heavy the artwork load. Be sure the skin you choose is not at fault and is supported by the latest stable ver of XBMC , nor some obscure setting within the skin.