Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: First time HTPC? XBMC set up
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey everyone!

We recently purchased our first home and I am looking at doing some things I've never done before. This might be a little long but I am new to all this and trying to catch up.
With the finishing of our basement starting next week I will soon have 4 TV's (maybe 6 if I choose to do the kids rooms) that I want to be connected to a central server.
I am trying to figure out the best/cheapest way to do this.

--A main concern is simplicity for the users.
I might be double majoring in Computer Science/Informatics but my wife and kids can at best operate a bluray player and our DirecTV DVR's(seriously, they can't even use an Xbox 360).
Ideally for simplicity's sake I would have all TV's controlled by remote(not phones), which I think I read XBMC can handle this no problem.
From the look of the XBMC GUI I am pretty confident they can navigate that, with a remote at least.

---How do I go about accessing the content stored on my central media server from any TV?
This will almost entirely be content physically stored on a hard drive. Although we do have a Netflix subscription and if I could also access that somehow with the same remote/gui that would be awesome.
A few ways I have read about involve using one of these at each TV; an HTPC, an AppleTV(which I've never even seen one) or a RaspberryPi(barely know what it is).
I am pretty sure I could sell the AppleTV or RaspberryPi's sizes to the wife, but an HTPC sitting on our shelf in the living room would be a hard sell.
Have no idea how to set up either of those, which models to buy, and if they can even still be rooted/hacked to work with XBMC.

--For my central media system would it be best to run Cat5 directly to each (receiver?)(via a ethernet splitter or crossover) or to the main house modem hub and from there to each (receiver?) ?