Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Downloading XBMC on a Mac
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am new to the concept of XBMC. So here are my questions:

1. Can I download XBMC on a Mac and stream it to my HDTV using Chromecast?

2. If I can, how do I do that? I have Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E2520) on my MacAir.

3. Is there a plug in where I watch a non-English film and I get English sub titles automatically?

4. On the nature of XBMC, we get data from the internet, right? So we usually do not get TV stations straight from the broadcasts of TV stations. If we get live broadcast, its a little delayed. Please advise.

Thanks.
1. No

2. see above

3. Yes, there's a subtitle search add-on

4. I don't understand this question
If you wish to stream movies from your Mac to your HDTV buy Apple TV through which you can stream anything (XBMC, other video or audio files).
XBMC is a Media Center peace of software. Fundamentally its a media player like VLC, Windows Media player or Apple Quicktime, however its packaged into an interface that's designed to make watching your media files easy, by creating a library of your movies, TV servers and music. There are however many features and addons which expand on this and streaming is one of them.

As its a peace of software that exists of your hardware, such as a Mac or Windows PC, it can be output to a TV. I don't believe you can hack the chromecast device and install XBMC, but someone please let me know if you can!

Chromecast is itself a media player, however it focuses on providing media to you from services/providers. If you wanting to run XBMC on you Mac and stream material to Chromecast, like you can with a Android phone, then I think your out of luck. Chromecast streaming appears to be proprietary to Google. Look into DLNA as an alternative.