Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: DVD's with required subtitles (forced?)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm just getting started on ripping my collection. At first I was going to do .iso files since space is not an issue. But I liked the idea of just starting the Movie when it is selected in XBMC so I began using .mkv since it is also lossless. I will do .iso for concert DVD's or music DVD's.

I am confused about subtitles though. When I'm making the .mkv and deselecting the foreign language subtitles should I keep the English one? Will this ensure that subtitles that are required (forced?) for movies where I would normally see them when a foreign language is spoken will still show up? I have the subtitles turned off in XBMC for the rest of the movie.
This is something I've just been working on. For both DVD and Blu-ray. When you rip the movie with MakeMKV you can select the full subtitle option or just the forced. If no forced subtitle exists then MakeMKV will drop that stream. However, it won't flag any forced subtitles as such. So I use MKVMerge GUI to set the flags. After doing some research it's pretty simple.