Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Total novice trying to install 'tv catch up'
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Is it possible for a novice pc user to install an app/ addon/ plugin whatever you call it onto an 'mx streambox'?

I am after ' tv catch up2.0' with epg for my android tv box

Can anyone help via ' teamviewer'?

Any feedback appreciated

Thanks
looks like the MX Streambox is a android box.

Addons are straight forward to add.

Have a read of the wiki, the guide is very straight forward to follow.

Or read the instructions in this xbmc thread

TVCatchup
Thanks

Do you know how i can do this....

If you haven't already done so, you'll need to upgrade your XBMC build to one of the Eden builds.

This is the info i got from my box...

mbx reference board (g18ref)

android version

kernel version

build no.
jdq39.20130529
Eden is an old version of XBMC. Its basically saying you need a version of xbmc that is eden or newer.

Sounds to me you have just bought an android box with a pre-installed version and are a real real novice. The info you have provided is information of the andorid box.

If you cant follow the simple guide in the thread above, I'd suggest you read through the wiki to get a grasp of what you have first.
You will probably have two options:

1. Download the zip file, go into XBMC as an application on your box, install the addon from zip and configure (as described in the thread).

2. Install TVCatchup as an Android application from the Play store.

The first option is slightly more fiddly, but easy enough if you follow the instructions. At the end of it, you'll have Freeview channels available in XBMC. The second is more straightforward, but you lose any integration, and would have to choose between starting XBMC to watch local media or TVCatchup to watch "live" TV.