Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: UPnP and SSH works on Ethernet, not on WLAN.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm having a weird issue and I can't figure out what to do. I'm new to XBMC and Linux so bear with me. This is my first project with a RPi.

Using ethernet, I got OpenElec working with my UPnP servers and even installed some software remotely using SSH and SFTP. After that, I switched over to my wifi dongle to get it ready to move the media player to its new home, but after I did that, I could no longer connect through SSH. I also tried the UPnP servers I use on my other devices and, while they were still saved in XBMC, I can't connect to them over wifi. I can't browse UPnP servers either. I get a "Could not connect to network server" when trying to connect to the Serviio server on my other machine. I verified that I am connected to the internet by installing Add Ons and playing Youtube videos. The problem is consistent, if I switch back to ethernet cable, upnp and ssh work. I verified that switching between ethernet and wlan does switch the IP address.

I originally thought it was a problem with OpenElec, but I'm having the exact same issue with XBian so I'm thinking it's either the hardware or XBMC. I thought I'd check here before I bought a new wifi dongle. Is there something that may be blocking part of the traffic over wifi? The DLNA/UPnP server software resides on a Windows 7 machine, but this is the only device that has this issue. My WDLive, XBox, Android, and Squeezebox all connect to my UPnP servers fine.

Any help is appreciated.
Code:
ping server

what is the ip address on wired cf wireless?
some wlan routers separate traffic between lan and wlan. Also make sure there is no firewall blocking upnp.
(2014-03-04, 09:18)wsnipex Wrote: [ -> ]some wlan routers separate traffic between lan and wlan. Also make sure there is no firewall blocking upnp.