Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Pulse Audio Auto Switch Profile
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I want to change the audio output from 5.1 to 2.0 stereo whenever a stereo video is playing, but when something other than stereo is playing, change back to 5.1.

I have a stereo which handles stereo better than XBMC up converting to 5.1.

Setting profiles are as follows:
1. 2.0 audio.
pactl set-card-profile alsa_card.pci-0000_00_03.0 output:hdmi-stereo-extra1
2. Anything above.
pactl set-card-profile alsa_card.pci-0000_00_03.0 output:hdmi-surround-extra1

I'm sure there's got to be some way to script this so before it plays, I get called and I can run that command accordingly. I'm a programmer, so if there is a way to program, I can do so.

Thanks,
Mr. Gecko
See: http://freedesktop.org/software/pulseaud...ource.html especially check the prop list you can query and the the set-profile that you could do.
(2014-03-16, 07:06)grmrgecko Wrote: [ -> ]I want to change the audio output from 5.1 to 2.0 stereo whenever a stereo video is playing, but when something other than stereo is playing, change back to 5.1.

I have a stereo which handles stereo better than XBMC up converting to 5.1.

Setting profiles are as follows:
1. 2.0 audio.
pactl set-card-profile alsa_card.pci-0000_00_03.0 output:hdmi-stereo-extra1
2. Anything above.
pactl set-card-profile alsa_card.pci-0000_00_03.0 output:hdmi-surround-extra1

I'm sure there's got to be some way to script this so before it plays, I get called and I can run that command accordingly. I'm a programmer, so if there is a way to program, I can do so.

Thanks,
Mr. Gecko

don't up convert then!