Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Movie Library options
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello folks.
I am very new to XBMC and getting everything set up. I am the point of importing my movie library but am at an impasse what my best options are. My setup is this, Mix of devices Pi, Nuc, OpenElec PC running XBMC connected to tv's, All these are running Gotham RC1. A Nas hosting about 800 movies all in a single directory, I guess I need to get all those movies into there own directories.?

I would like to access the movies from any XBMC at any time.

Some of the things I considered, I really like the idea of something like Plex with the transcoding managing the movies. However If I go that route, Do I still get the same options I would if I directly imported the library, Aka, sort by, search for, and will the metadata come through? Furthermore, and more importantly many of my movies have a 2nd audio channel with Description for the blind. If I go the Plex route can I still select that 2nd audio stream. If not seems direct library import or shared SQL would be my only option.

Another concern I have is this, With direct library or shared sql library, can the Pi and/or my celeron nuc handle a good size library? Seems the UPNP/Plex route would take bit of load off the low power devices.

Thought about going the Playon Route, Since I do have PlayOn, however, with Playon I don't get the metadata.

Your thoughts would be awesome.
Plex is unnecessary for you. Use a MySQL database. Put the movies in their own directories.
With that many movies to start with, you could consider using a media manager (like Media Center Master or similar) to scrape everything and organize into XBMC compatible folders with all the metadata/nfo files/artwork. At that point, each XBMC client could quickly scan in the content to its own library.