Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Is this Build ok to start off with
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello All,

I am fairly new to XBMC, I am looking to build a good setup for my self but want to go slow, so could anyone guid me on few things.

One of my friends has a old system laying off which he has offered me to use, here are the specs for the system
Intel P45 chipset + P4 processor
8 Gigs Mem
GeForce 8400GS GFX Card
WD Green 1 TB

Can anyone tell me if its a good option to start off, I am planning to go for a Low Power Haswell similar build similar to THIS
I will be using this system with 47" samsung plasma screen, I hope I will be able to run this 24X7 as a NAS too. but I really want the power consumption to be as low as possible.

If you guys have any other options / advices please do let me know, i am ready to spend a few bucks right now.

Thanks,
Yes this will work fine. I put together almost the exact rig together for guy from work who just wanted to use it for streaming.
I used
HP dc5100 P4 3.4Ghz HT
2GB DDR2 ram
40GB HD
8400GS 512 DDR2 GFX
Rig was running XBMCbuntu
Hope that helps,
Bubba
Thanks BubbaBBQ,

that gives me some confidence Smile
If it's free great. If it's not, how much is he charging?
its free, but he just now told me that he has only 1.5 gigs of ram and the board he is offering me now has max 2 gig of support
(2014-05-04, 08:36)sdinesh86 Wrote: [ -> ]its free, but he just now told me that he has only 1.5 gigs of ram and the board he is offering me now has max 2 gig of support

That's plenty of RAM for Openelec
1.5gb is plenty for openelec/Linux. Km not sure if that graphics card supports vdpau, it was introduced somewhere around that model of GPU, so you may get hardware decoding which means your setup will be able to handle 1080p bluray content.