Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Music files aren't playing (WMA lossless)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

This is my first post to the forums as I'm new to xbmc. I only found out about the product when I bought an andoridTV box from Amazon LINK. In the past, I've experimented with HTPC, building my own PC from scratch to be quiet. I spent a lot of money on HTPC solutions and was never satisfied with the results. I'm really excited about the idea of a small, lightweight android based media client and have so far been impressed with how well it's going, considering how comparatively inexpensive it is.

For storage, I'm using a 6TB Buffalo NAS. It's actually an 4-bay NAS with 2TB WD Red drives configured as RAID5, to reduce the risk of data loss. It's in my office, away from the home entertainment system, connected directly to my router (the android box is connected to the router via ethernet over powerline). I've managed to play 1080p video from the NAS, streamed through xbmc, on the android device, so everything looks to be sound from that point of view.

I've managed to play mp3s through the box, but for some reason, my .wma files won't play. xmbc recognizes them and imports them into the library, even the album art works but when I click on one to play, nothing happens.Quite often when I try to play them through the xbmc, I get an error message 'one or more files failed to play, please check the log files'. I haven't checked the log files because I don't know how to. If it's important, they were mostly encoded about 5 years ago lossless and play fine using vlc on my macbook.

So this is a fairly basic, first hurdle issue but if somebody could take pity on a newbie and help me figure out why they won't play, I'd appreciate it.

Best,
Phill
Does anybody have thoughts about what could be wrong here or what course of action I might take to find out?