Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: xbmc slow and choppy
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi guys im new to this forum and kind of new to xbmc so be gentle lol.Right I have a decent spec pc quad core 8gb of ram hd graphics card etc..60mg broadband running actually around the 40 mark virgin for ya .Well ive transfered most of my film collection over so far about 308 films couple of playlists kids films my movies ,3d films etc..and slowly adding all artwork etc using aeon nox running perfectly really enjoying the massive amount of customisation this thing has then all of a sudden it starts scrolling slow and choppy through menus and film selections etc not playing films or nothing .
This is a new build just for htpc purposes and xbmc so no crap on nothing running in backgrounds please if you know whats gone wrong dont want to start all again im new to this so might have to let me know where to look for certain setting etc...sorry its long just trying to describe best I can thanks.
What SO and Graphics Card are you using? Does this happen when you power up your machine or it happens when the machine has been powered for a while?
If both the GUI and video playback is slowing down then something could be hogging resources.

First thing would be to move back to the Confluence skin (default) to see if you still get the problem.

Then go through and disabled any services you've enabled such as UPnP, webserver, airplay etc.

Then go through and disable any add-ons.

Strip it back so it's a basic install with just your local media library, if still getting the problems at this stage then post a debug log, see log_file (wiki)

If still getting problems then it could be your drivers, make sure these are up to date, but there has been issues with AMD for example, so please tell us what GPU you use.