Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: New here, new to XBMC, new even to Linux.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I've been using my soft-modded Wii for many years now to wirelessly play movies and TV shows from the computers around the house using WiiMC. In the last year or so the bit rate of these formats has become too much for my Wii (mostly for TV shows) and it causes annoying lag between video and audio. So I decided months ago that I would finally just buy one of those media players when I found a reasonable.

I looked into Roku, Chromecast, and micro computers (they call them "TV boxes" in some places here) with XBMC installed. I wouldn't mind trying out the former two, but I decided what I really wanted was something with XBMC. Looking a little further I found out I could turn a laptop into one of these media centers. That's great considering I was not paying the 120$-140$+ for that little thing from the local Kijiji.

I finally came across a laptop I could use and this morning fedex brought me the power adaptor... that was more than 12 hours ago.

So I started by wiping out the hard drive, making a bootable XBMCbuntu cd, and installing XBMC Gotham OS. Things went amazingly smooth, and after 20-30 minutes of updates and downloads I was looking at a neat XBMC menu. I spent another hour or so setting up network shares and filling the film, TV, photo and music libraries. When I was satisfied that things looked great and that I had my iPad remote controls set up I connected the laptop to the TV... and nothing happened.

I know nothing of Linux so I could not, as I would with Windows, check out the display properties. Nor did I find any possible settings inside Gotham that would help sharing the display with the TV. Hours down the drain I decided on a new path.