Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Why can't tags be used to create episode smart playlists?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
The fact we can't create episode playlists using the tv show tag seems like an glaring oversight to me. I'd like to use it for creating PseudoTV channels. Is there any chance this could make it into one of the Gotham fix releases?
I hope so too. I would like to see tags on episodes and the ability to create a smart playlist of episodes based on the TV show tag. Much like you can create an episode SmartList based on genre which comes from the TV show, so too would I like to see this for tvshow tags. It looks pretty easy at the source code level, so I may knock up a patch this weekend (note that I am new to xbmc so I can't say if my patch would be welcomed).
Episode-level tags don't have support yet, but I think this is simply because no one has had time to specifically work on it yet. I'm looking forward to it as well. If camh is able to work something up then I would say that we'd be very interested in at least looking at it. The dev who worked on tags has been very busy, so I'm sure any help would be welcome and encouraged.
Just to be clear, there are two aspects here:

1) Tags on episodes, which would be to add "episode" to the taglinks table allowing you to tag individual episodes. It should be a straight extension of the way tags work right now. It extends the schema conceptually, but not actually due to how tags are linked.

2) Supporting a TVShowTag field for episode playlists. This is just a change to the playlist code to add the code to generate the where clause for this. This requires no schema changes - it uses existing indexes and columns.