Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Which Tablet?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Good Evening all!

Just to clarify, from the initial introduction I am not an electrician or an apprentice in anyway, Just here looking for some advice. For my Home cinema set up I need a decent tablet! basically I have a beautiful sounding Fatman Amp, with A USB input for the sound, and a new Acer 3D projector, all media is stored on a WDmycloud drive. My initial plan is to mount a tablet to the wall and run a media centre using XBMC. So.... to clarify ha anybody completed anything similar? I need a decent sized screen, HDMI & USB output/input for the audio and visual, and then wifi to play music and films from.
Can anybody help?[/align]
What's the purpose of the tablet? are you going to watch movies on a 10 inch screen on the wall?
Sorry no, the tablet is just run XBMC, the image will go to the projector via HDMI
The Nexus 8 is due out soon, but I have no experience with running XBMC on a tablet.

A lot of people have a XBMC box hooked up to their TV and control that box via the wireless network with Yatse or the XBMC app from a tablet or smart phone.
I do have a raspberry pi for that, but I want a bigger picture! haha the HD projector will give me a cinema feel!
Which are you trying to do?

Tablet --- HDMI ---> Projector
or
Tablet --- 802.11 ---> Pi --- HDMI ---> Projector
Tablet ---- HDMI ------Projector
Why would you want to use a tablet for that?
The tabletscreen won't be any use to you while the output is directed to HDMI. If you REALLY want to use android, buy a powerful android tv style box. Then by all means use an android tablet for control, yatse is a fine thing!
ah.. its not so much Android, it can be any software, I just wanted a tablet mounted to the wall I can pick films from to then watch on a projector, or use it as a jukebox for music, without having to use my TV whatsoever.