Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Airplay not stable; sometimes doesn't show as available, sometimes audio only
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So I'm fairly new to XBMC/Kodi; I've mainly started using Xbian on my R-Pi to replace my Apple TV.

Setup: Xbian Beta 2 (so based on 12.2 with 13.0 backend) on R-Pi B board connected over Wifi, static IP.
XBMC 13.1 on WIndows 7 64-Bit wired into the network, static IP.
Posting in the general section because it seems to happen on both setups. I'm only really interested in getting it going on the Pi; but it doesn't seem like its just a Pi problem.

Issue: Airplay doesn't always even show up as an option from my iDevices; sometimes when it does show up its displayed as an audio-only receiver. When something is playing to it (i.e. it's shown up as a receiver) then it stays visible and plays no problem. Also, it seems that when I have XBMC running on the PC, it blots out the Pi. I can't be certain given the intermittent nature of what I have already; but earlier I had it visible from the PC, and as soon as I closed it, the Pi became visible.

I've had a couple of other issues, but the only one that I've not been able to resolve is Airplay.
I don't know a huge amount about what I'm doing with the Pi (yet; I have another one to play with, plus I'm on an electronics degree); but I know the basics about SSHing in and stuff; so with fairly details guidance I can probably do pretty much anything.
Help? But be gentle! :p
You can read this thread: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=179961 It explains why airplay does sometimes show as Audio only. You have to wait a couple of seconds until the screen shows up. This is the behaviour on iOS 7 devices. Apple is more and more complicating the protocol and they will make opensource implementations useless with iOS 8.