Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: New Useraccount with Acces tu GUI
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Guys

I am new to XBMC, actually using it only 24 hours. There are a lot of guides out there for setting the thing up, and so far i was good advised.

Now a problem came up to which i cant seem to find the solution. Maybe one of you can help me out.

I am using the latest Gotham release.

What i want to do is to gain access to GUI.

I read already that there is supposed to be an additional account to XBMC : XBMCbuntu
with this account i should be able to enter the GUI... The thing is once I switch to GUI it only shows the XBMC user
switching to "Other Users" and using XBMCbuntu as user and the password I used while installing XBMC..... wont accapt the account

I created a new one, but it also logs into XBMC

is there a way to create a user account that will let me into the linux GUI?

how do i do that?^^

thx in advance
I've never really used XBMCbuntu, so this is a bit of a guess based on what I'd try...

It sounds like you've got the username or password wrong on the non-XBMC user - or, if it's the same user (it should be), you're simply logging into the wrong environment. When you log out of XBMC, you get a login menu, yes? On that, is there an option to select the login environment - something labelled "session", perhaps? You're looking for a menu alongside the username/password boxes, a menu that includes XBMC and then something like XBMCbuntu, KDE, Gnome, Desktop, or anything *other* than XBMC.

Sorry, a bit vague, but maybe that points you in the right direction!