Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: complete newbie: exporting video to hardware
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been searching for a way to export video from a linux pc (fedora/centos) to external hardware (SD composite port) and someone mentioned kodi. My question is, is kodi suitable for this task? I don't know a single thing about kodi (yet).
This is for a TV project whereby I need to play a standard 640x480 video and send it out (preferably by usb or something) to an external device which can display the video on a normal SD TV. So firstly I need to know if kodi can do this and secondly if it is compatible with any external hardware that could do this. Thanks for any advice.
Your terminology is a bit confused. I take it you simply want to play a video file that you have on your computer to an SD TV via composite video? (Which incidentally is the lowest quality connection you are likely to see in this field - but I will assume you are stuck with an SD analogue TV with composite in).

You simply need a video card with composite video out. Unfortunately for regular PCs such devices are rare these days because HDMI has become so universal.

However you have one very cheap and popular option - a raspberry pi (RPI). It has HDMI out but also composite. And XBMC works very well on it.

I suggest you get an RPi and install openelec. See in general here http://kodi.wiki/view/Raspberry_PI It's hard to go wrong with something that costs so little. There are some extra expenses like an SD card, a power supply and some sort of controller (like a remote, or a keyboard). However many people have those things already. Go for a RPi B rather than the B+, as the composite port is a little harder to access on the B+.