Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Update library now silent?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Has anything changed in calling UpdateLibrary(foo), since now when called from home, the LibraryScan process dialog doesn't appear anymore...

does it have now parameters we can set? like UpdateLibrary(foo,[dir],[silent=false]) or something like that?

just wondering, since i did find the notification useful, since I always like to see progress.

Cheers.

i'm on Kodi beta 2 - OS X Yosemite - SKIN: Confluence & sio2-x
you didnt have a look at this site, right?
List_of_built-in_functions (wiki)
I read somewhere recently that it would be hidden if triggered by a keymap but not from within a skin.

I find it annoying as well when skinning so you're not the only one.
You don't have this set to "true" in the advancedsettings.xml, right ?
PHP Code:
<videolibrary>
  <
backgroundupdate>false</backgroundupdate>
</
videolibrary
(2014-11-10, 21:43)nessus Wrote: [ -> ]You don't have this set to "true" in the advancedsettings.xml, right ?
PHP Code:
<videolibrary>
  <
backgroundupdate>false</backgroundupdate>
</
videolibrary

i don't use advanced settings at all. especially because when building the skin, i try to have the "default-est" setup for my kodi, to match the average "starter" user....

(2014-11-10, 21:17)phil65 Wrote: [ -> ]you didnt have a look at this site, right?
List_of_built-in_functions (wiki)

of course I did... I use that page on a daily base along with http://kodi.wiki/view/XBMC_Skinning_Manu...essBar.xml

since I can't remember any of it by memory! Smile
but there's nothing there that explains this...
it's not even mentioned... it just gives [path] as a parameter for UpdateLibrary(foo)

when started from settings the dialog shows up.

but when called from keyboard, remote, or button in skin... doesn't.
just wanted to know is this is made on purpose or it will go away...

because if it's here to stay, i will have to code a notification called by the skin, but I think I liked better when the dialog was handled by Kodi.
(2014-11-10, 21:30)Hitcher Wrote: [ -> ]I read somewhere recently that it would be hidden if triggered by a keymap but not from within a skin.

I find it annoying as well when skinning so you're not the only one.

Smile

(2014-11-10, 22:53)Hitcher Wrote: [ -> ]This it?

https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/ed9e...4aff435768

seems like it...
although it sound like it should behave the way you said.. if started by skin should NOT be silent (at least from the commit comment..)
207697 (thread)
(2014-11-10, 23:01)francovilar Wrote: [ -> ]207697 (thread)

thanks

so now the function is

UpdateLibrary(video,,true) > updates all the sources and shows the dialog.

SWEET!

cheers.

removed151214

Out of interest, does anyone know if this also apply to the CleanLibrary function? From my own tests, all such calls (with and without ,,true) just lock the gui until the clean is complete.
It appears so, yes - pointless imo as clean library has always 'locked up' Kodi.
(2014-11-10, 23:12)fastcolors Wrote: [ -> ]so now the function is

UpdateLibrary(video,,true) > updates all the sources and shows the dialog.
If and when the pull request referenced in the other thread will be merged this shouldn't be necessary. Although the pull request only talks about "remotes and keyboards" (and I have only tested these cases), it should also work for e.g. actions from XML nodes (skins, dialogs for add-ons, etc.).
It is safe to add the ",true" parameter though, just in case it won't get merged for some reason.

(2014-11-10, 23:25)Unfledged Wrote: [ -> ]Out of interest, does anyone know if this also apply to the CleanLibrary function? From my own tests, all such calls (with and without ,,true) just lock the gui until the clean is complete.
The answer is yes, both library scan/clean now default to not show dialogs if started automatically (a fix for remotes and keyboards has been proposed, see above).
Unfortunately this is a long standing issue, unrelated to the mention change. Developers are trying to investigate this, as it is not always reproducible (in fact I can't reproduce).

Can you test if adding ",true" still locks the GUI? The correct parameter is just ",true" - CleanLibrary(video,true) - no double comma for CleanLibrary.

removed151214

Thanks @Hitcher and @menakite - that means I can update the skin shortcuts script so shortcuts it provides show the progress Smile
Updated my post - a developer is investigating if this only happens when the dialog is hidden.

removed151214

Tried with just ,true - and the modal DialogProgress.xml is shown without any gui lock Smile
Pages: 1 2 3